About Seberang Jaya Toastmasters Club

Welcome to Seberang Jaya Toastmasters Club official website.

We are a group of approximately 26 men and women from incredibly, diverse backgrounds who are dedicated to enhance our skills in public speaking and leadership. We have members in their twenties and members in their fifties. Some have been active for more than 10 years, while others join within the past 1 months.

Our club was chartered on 13th June, 1998, and sponsored by Butterworth Toastmasters Club. The club started with 21 members and the Charter President was Tan Bak Hoe, CTM. The Charter Night was held at Safira Club and the Guest of Honour was YB Puan Jahara Bt. Hamid, PJK.

Our members have served the organization as Area Governors and Division Governors. In June 2011, DTM Sue Chan was elected as District 51 Governor for term 2011/2012. In June 2010, Erik Ooi, ACS & ALB completed his term as Area Governor.

We also actively participate in the Toastmaster contests that are held each year. Our members have won the contests at the club, area and division levels. In the recent District 51 contest 2010/2011, our club member –  IC Ooi won the District 51 Humorous Speech Champion. Six years ago, DTM Sue Chan finished 2nd runner-up in the evaluation contest at district level.

Since started, we meet on every 1st & 3rd Tuesday of each month at the Safira Country Club located at Seberang Jaya. Meeting starts at 8:00 p.m. and will end by 10:00 p.m. All new members will be coached by an experienced Toastmasters to serve as their mentor. He or she is expected to work with the new member until that person completes Competent Communication manual assignments.

Seberang Jaya Toastmasters Club

The Mission of the Club
is to provide mutually supportive and positive leaning environment in which every member has the opportunity to develop communication and leadership skills, which in turn foster self-confidence and personal growth.

Click here to download our club brochure and connect with us through Facebook.

Our past presidents:

1998/1999: Tan Bak Hoe, CTM
1999/2000: Ng Fook Chin, CTM
2000/2001: Lim Poh Ann, CL
2001/2002: Tneh Aik Hong, CTM
2002/2003: James Tan Eng Kiat, CTM
2003/2004: Ong Choon An, CTM
2004/2005: Sue Chan, DTM
2005/2006: Vilasini Menon, CTM
2006/2007: Cheah Chin Seng, CTM, CL
2007/2008: Erik Ooi, ACS, ALB
2008/2009: David Choo, CC
2009/2010: Jessica Tan, ACS, CL

2010/2011: Ng Yu Ching, ACB, CL

2011/2012: Lee Kah Moey, CC

2012/2013: Ooi Ing Chyuan, CC

Comments are closed.